With the quarter/semester coming to an end, here is a reminder everyone how to archive or copy their class in Google Classroom to help prepare new classes.
Archive or delete a class:
- When you’re done teaching a class, you can archive it. When a class is archived, it’s archived for all teachers and students in that class. If you don’t archive classes, they still appear on your Classroom homepage and on students’ homepages.
- You can restore an archived class if you want to use it again, or delete it if you’ll never use it again.
- Teachers and co-teachers can archive a class, but only the primary teacher can delete a class. Students can’t archive or delete a class.
- Note: To delete a class, you need to archive it first.
When you archive a class:
- It’s placed in a separate area to preserve the class materials, student work, and posts. You won’t see it with your active classes on the homepage.
- You and your students can view an archived class. To use the class again, you have to restore it.
- You and your students can still access any class materials in Google Drive. That includes any attachments for assignments or other student work.
- Students can’t unenroll from a class that has been archived. This can limit how they can manage the classes they’re done taking.
- To reuse work you created in a class, you can copy a class. Copying also helps you save time when you have multiple sections of the same class.
- Only teachers and co-teachers of classes with the Classwork page can copy a class. The teacher who copies the class becomes the primary owner of the copied class. To check if your class has the Classwork page, see Does my class have the Classwork page.
- You can copy both active and archived classes. Copies of archived classes become active classes.
Items that copy
Items that don't copy
Deleted classwork items
Students and co-teachers
Attachments that you don't have permission to copy
Directions to copy a class:
Go to classroom.google.com.
- On the class you want to copy, click More Copy.Note: If you don’t see Copy, either the class doesn’t have a Classwork page or you’re not the teacher for that class.
Note: In the new class, the copied assignments and questions save as drafts .
Delete a class:
- Warning: There's no way to undo deleting a class. If you click Delete, you no longer have access to any class posts or comments. However, you and your students can still access your class files in the class Drive folder.
- When you decide you’ll never use a class again, you can delete it permanently. To delete a class, you must first archive it, then delete it. You and your students can still access your class files in the class Drive folder.
- Only the primary teacher of a class can delete it. Co-teachers can’t delete a class.
- If you’re changing the classes you teach or leaving your school, you can transfer a class you own to a co-teacher in the class.
Go to classroom.google.com.
- At the top, click Menu .